Congratulations on your contemplated marriage!
The following information is provided to answer frequently asked questions.
On August 1, 2016, the five day waiting period in Minnesota was abolished by the Minnesota legislature. If you call to make an appointment with us to apply for your marriage license and are willing to wait while we prepare it, you can take it with you that day. This will eliminate the need for a return trip. In this instance, the only form of payment that we will accept is a debit or credit card.
The marriage license is valid for a period of 6 months. If the license is not used within that time period it will expire. A marriage license issued in Minnesota may only be used in Minnesota but you do not need to be married in the county in which you obtained your license.
On your wedding day, the person performing the marriage is responsible for sending the official fact of marriage to our office to be filed. After we receive this fact of marriage, you will receive one free Certified Copy of Marriage. If there is going to be a name change, update your name change with the Social Security Administration prior to applying for a driver's license.
Disregard any letters you may receive in the mail from any company requesting you to send money to change your name on your social security card. THE SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION PROVIDES THIS SERVICE FREE.
Marriage License Application
- Click here to access the Marriage License Application form.
- Click here for the Supplemental Application For Party Not Appearing form.
You must provide the following information at the time of application:
- Full names
- Birth date
- Number of previous marriages
- How, when, and where previous marriage terminated
- Names parties will have after marriage
- Resident County
- Felonies committed
The fee for a marriage license is $115. For parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education the fee is only $40. In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a statement from the person who provided the premarital education. This statement must be submitted at the time of application. It must be on the signer's letterhead and include specific information about the length and content of the course. The signer's signature must be notarized. The education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statute 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statute 148B.33. Only people over the age of 21 years may solemnize a marriage in Minnesota. We strongly suggest that the educator call our office if they need guidance in the correct procedure in completing the educator's statement.
*Click here for sample educator statement
Appointments are mandatory for this Service! Click on Appointments in the banner on the left. Thank You!
To schedule a civil marriage ceremony you will need to contact the Court Administrator's office at (507) 831-4551.